You can change several options for Encryptability application by using the Encryptability Settings screen, which you can open by choosing the Settings command from the File menu:

This screen contains the following areas:

The folder where to store the "spare key" files

This is the folder on your computer where Encryptability stores the "spare key" files. (And also where Encryptability is looking for the "spare key" files when you want to reset a password). You can open this folder to examine its contents or move the "spare key" files to a different folder by clicking on the button to the right of the folder area and using the commands on the menu that opens.

Allow sorting of the items by clicking on the column headers

If this option is selected, then you should be able to sort the list of the Virtual Encrypted Disks by clicking on the headers of the columns, similarly to how File Explorer allows you to sort files in its screens. You may want to clear this option if you find yourself often clicking on the column headers accidentally.

Show taskbar notification messages

If this option is selected, it allows Encryptability to display notification messages in the bottom right part of the screen) when a Virtual Encrypted Disk has been started or stopped, and in some other cases. You may want to clear this option if you find such messages unnecessary or distracting.

Show taskbar notification icon

If this option is selected, Encryptability adds its notification icon to the Windows taskbar notification area (next to the system clock, in the bottom right corner of the screen). You may want to clear this option if you prefer not to use the icon and want to leave more room for other icons in the notification area.

Add the PANIC command to the taskbar icon menu

If this option is selected, Encryptability adds the PANIC command to its notification icon menu that you can use to quickly stop any Virtual Encrypted Disks and "forget" any passwords you've previously chosen to remember. However, since using the PANIC command may potentially cause the loss of the unsaved information, you may want to clear this option to protect yourself from accidentally invoking the PANIC command.

Check for updates automatically

If checked, this option causes Encryptability to periodically connect to our web site to check for the availability of a newer version. If this option is not selected, then Encryptability will display a message reminding you to check for the updates manually.

Restore defaults

Press this button if you want to restore the options shown on this screen to their default settings, as they were right after you've installed Encryptability.


Recovering the password Using the AutoRun file Copyright © 2021, WinAbility® Software Corporation  . All rights reserved